Assignment List Web Part not in the list of web parts

Topics: Project Management Forum, User Forum
Jun 1, 2007 at 4:29 PM
I have gone through the getting started guide step by step, and I can not get past step 5 in section 3.2.3 (bottom of page 9) because the Assignment List Web part is not in the list of web parts. All other steps in the installation have been successful. Does anyone know why this web part would not be listed? The previous step was to activate the SharePoint learning kit as a feature. SharePoint learning kit was listed as a feature and I have successfully activated it.

I am very new to SharePoint, so I could easily be missing something.
Jun 4, 2007 at 3:19 PM

Hi Eric,

If it doesn't show up in the populated list in the webpart gallery page, try the 'New' button on that page to add it to the list.

Jun 4, 2007 at 3:43 PM
I have already checked that area as well. The web part is not listed in either place.

Right now I an trying to figure out if it is not working because of the cmd files. It looked as if everything ran ok when I processed them, but maybe a path was off on one of them. Will the DeploySolution work if AddSolution was not successful?
Jun 6, 2007 at 12:53 AM
Nope, definitely shouldn't be able to deploy a solution that wasn't added.

Sounds like that is where you should start. Is there anything special about your environment?
Jun 7, 2007 at 8:59 PM
Well, I'm working on a test server and all of SharePoint is installed on the one server, including SQL. I do not have it set up as a farm.

On Tuesday I decided to remove SharePoint and start over because I was having so many problems. After that Windows would not boot up again. It would go through the boot sequence, and it would get to where the windows server status bar was scrolling, but then it would cycle and reboot itself. Anyway, I had to spend all day Wednesday rebuilding the server with a fresh install of Windows, SQL Server, the service packs, and SharePoint.