SLK Questions from a SharePoint novice

Topics: User Forum
Jan 2, 2007 at 8:28 PM
Here are some general questions about the SLK that I couldn't find answers to in the forum. If anyone has experience using stand-alone Learning Management Systems, your viewpoints may prove especially helpful since that is where I'm coming from. I have very little experience in SharePoint.

-What is the depth of support for SCORM data model? Everything?
-What is the reporting mechanism that you anticipate managers using?(anything out of the box?)
-What are some of the administrative interface features?
-How do assigned courses surface in SharePoint for the learners?

I’m trying to get an idea of how SLK works when compared to other LMS apps before I ask our IT dept to get involved. Good luck at BETT everyone! Have fun!

-Mike
Jan 4, 2007 at 11:18 PM
What is the depth of support for SCORM data model? Everything?
SLK is certified SCORM 2004 2nd edition conformant and supports the entire SCORM 2004 datamodel. It also supports the entire SCORM 1.2 datamodel with a couple very minor exceptions, which will be outlined in the V1 release notes.

What is the reporting mechanism that you anticipate managers using?(anything out of the box?)
SLK does not include an out-of-the-box reporting tool. There is some sample reporting code in the SLK SDK and there are community members and partners looking at creating reporting solutions for SLK.

What are some of the administrative interface features?