Confirmation of working Course Manager / Tracking with 1.3.1RC ?

Topics: User Forum
Oct 23, 2008 at 11:09 AM
Dear All,

First post on here.  Can anyone confirm a working course manager in this latest version?  As a teacher I am more concerned with having tracking ability on set assignments but have been unable to get this function to work correctly. 

Any help will be gratefully received.

David

Dr David Wilson
Teacher of Science
Oct 23, 2008 at 1:57 PM
Im also looking for a working course manager it hasnt been updated since they posted it last, which stated it would work with the rc version, It would be nice to hear more regular feedback on whats going on with the slk and learning gateway, As far as my understanding goes this is backed by microsoft and so Im guessing funding is also by microsoft. whats going on,
Oct 29, 2008 at 4:15 PM
I am really struggling getting the Course Manager to work with Version 1.3.1 RC1. Using the directions and installation packages does not work for me. It does not recognize the latest version and stops right away. So i have manually deployed the solution through stsadm commands. Now i find my self halfway through. I can see the application through the web interface and can activate the course manager there. However, when i go to the central administration page, application management the course manager is not there to configure.  Thoughts?

Is there an updated installation for RC1?
Oct 30, 2008 at 12:09 AM

I can also confirm that the Course Manager RC 1 is not working with SLK 1.3.1 RC1. The reasoning is the following:

The Course Manager was built on the 1.3.0.2 assembly reference. It actually looks for assembly version 1.3.0.2 when the Installer.bat runs to check for "1.3.1". Since the update from Alpha to RC1, the SLK assembly version has changed from 1.3.0.2 to 1.3.1, which is causing the first pre-requisite to fail.   

My Efforts: