Editing the module after delivery (URGENT)

Oct 3, 2014 at 12:16 PM
If I have uploaded a module using slk into share point and and delivered to client, now I need to do some text changes in the module. Is there a way to edit them without losing the data entered by the user, or do I have to built another module and re upload it with the changes which I will be loosing all the data entered by the user.

Please Help Me its Urgent.
Coordinator
Nov 10, 2014 at 11:50 AM
Depends on whether versioning is turned on the document library or not. If it is turned on (the recommended way), then because the exact version is assigned to the user and a new version would need assigning to the user. You might be able to programatically update the file so it doesn't change the version - see http://sharepoint.stackexchange.com/questions/24595/modifying-file-contents-without-creating-a-new-version for an example. Or you could try turning off versioning in the document library before uploading. In either of those cases I would test in a different doc library first.

If versioning is not turned on, then you can just upload the file.

Once the file is uploaded then you will need to remove all the files from the SLK cache. They contains all the files from the zip files expanded onto disk so SLK doesn't need to load them everytime. The location is controlled in slksettings.xml and by default is
PackageCacheLocation="%TEMP%\SLK_PC"
This will need clearing out on every web server.

Richard
SLK Coordinator
http://blog.salamandersoft.co.uk