Instructions for initial install of 1.4

Topics: User Forum
Nov 5, 2009 at 6:09 PM

I am brand new to SLK, and would like to start by installing release 1.4 on my development server for some testing.  It appears that the installation instructions in the "Getting Started" guide do not apply to this release.  Is that correct?  What is the best way to get installed with version 1.4?  Should I first install 1.3.1, and then follow instructions for upgrade to 1.4, or is there a more direct route to take?

Thanks much for any advice.

Nov 5, 2009 at 11:39 PM

If I remember correctly you just use the old package (1.3.1) and replace the .wsp with the new one from 1.4. Be sure to use the latest Getting Started guide, available for download in the "Patches" section. The documentation leaves many questions unanswered, so we'll probably see you here again soon. Good luck!

Nov 5, 2009 at 11:59 PM

Thanks so much for the reply...makes perfect sense.  And actually, the install instructions were clear enough as well.  I was able to add and deploy the 1.4 package without problems.  I was also able to configure SLK, and verified that the new SharepointLearningKit SQL database was created.  However, when I visit any sites on my sharepoint server, every webpart simply says "Web Part Error". (thankfully this is just a development server!)   I can go to Site Features, and see the new SharePoint Learning Kit feature there, even tried activating it...but still all of my sites are showing broken web parts.   Has anyone else out there experienced this, by any chance?

Also, in case anyone is wondering, when I retract the solution, everything on the sites works again. 

Nov 6, 2009 at 7:28 PM